California: Governor Newsom Expands Storm State of Emergency to Six Additional Counties 
The Californer/10233197

SACRAMENTO ~ Governor Gavin Newsom has declared a state of emergency in six additional counties: Calaveras, Del Norte, Glenn, Kings, San Benito and San Joaquin. This is in response to the storms that have been forecasted to continue through mid-March.

At the Governor's request, President Biden issued a Presidential Emergency Declaration authorizing federal assistance to support state and local storm response efforts. The proclamation supports impacted residents by waiving fees to replace records such as marriage and birth certificates, and provides flexibility to help hospitals and care facilities in impacted areas continue providing services.

More on The Californer
California is mobilizing personnel and resources to storm-impacted communities across the state. Residents are encouraged to visit to sign up for local wireless emergency alerts and for road conditions updates. Information on staying safe during the storms can be found here.

Filed Under: Government, State

Show All News | Report Violation


Latest on The Californer